All India Port & Workers Federation nominates its representatives on the Bipartite Wage Negotiating Committee

Posted by Daily Shipping Times on 21-06-2012        Tweet


MUMBAI : In a meeting of the Working Committee of the All India Port & Dock Workers Federation, which met in Mumbai on June 18, 2012, under the Chairmanship of Shri S. R. Kulkarni, unanimously decided to nominate the following persons as representatives of the All India Port & Dock workers Federation, which represents 42 % of port & dock workers in the country at all the Major Ports.

1.    Shri S R Kulkarni, President

2. Shri P M Mohammed Haneef, General Secretary

3. Shri D K Sarma, Addl. General Secretary,

4. Shri G M Krishnamurthy, Vice - President

5.   Shri M L Bellani, Secretary

 This was announced in Mumbai by

Shri R Kulkarni, President, All India Port & Dock Workers Federation.

It was  also unanimously decided to hold demonstrations at the offices of the Major Port Trusts at all the Major Ports on July 2, 2012, demanding the balance amount of PLR (bonus), which the Hon’ble Minister of Shipping G K Vasan, had agreed to make full payment but advance of Rs.5,000/- was given to port & dock workers for the FY 2010-11.

Shri Kulkarni hoped that the Hon’ble Minister and the Secretary of Shipping, will direct the Major Ports to make the payment before the workers resort to agitation at all the Ports.

It was unanimously decided to induct Shri Kishor Kotwal as Vice-President of the Federation in the vacancy caused due to the sad demise of Shri Manohar Kotwal, the veteran Trade Union leader who expired on Nov 29, 2011, at the age of 96 years.

Shri Leonard Rodrigues has also been included in the vacany caused by the removal of Shri N D Kamble as the Secretary of the Federation.

 Shri Kulkarni appealed to all the Port & Dock workers throughout the country to observe ‘Protest Day’ on 02.07.2012, demanding the balance of Bonus immediately.

It aws also decided to hold a ‘Workshop’ of Senior Leaders of the affiliates of the Federation at Mumbai on 14-15 July, 2012, to mobilize the Port & Dock workers for a massive agitation for wage revision and payment of balance Bonus for the financial year 2010-11.

Shri Kulkarni also appealed the Indian Ports Association to finalize the PLR Scheme as was committed by them earlier, within the next 15 days, failing which, they should be ready to face the Nationwide agitation at all the Major Ports of the country.