Government reduces number of ports to 14 for imports of scrap

Posted by Daily Shipping Times on 30-03-2017        Tweet

NEW DELHI: The Government has reduced the number of designated ports to 14 for imports of scrap, disallowing about a dozen ICDs from such activities.

Earlier, these imports were permitted through 26 ports, including inland container depots (ICDs), spread across the Country.

The Directorate General of Foreign Trade (DGFT), under the commerce ministry, said that import of scrap would take place only through the 14 ports and no exceptions would be allowed even in case of export oriented units (EOUs) and special economic zones.

These ports are Chennai, Cochin, Elmore, JNPT, Kandla, Mormugao, Mumbai, New Mangalore, Paradip, Tuticorin, Vishakhapatnam, Pipava, Mundra and Kolkata.

The ICDs at Loni, Ludhiana, Dadri, Nagpur, Jodhpur, Jaipur, Udaipur, Kanpur, and Malanpur among others have been removed from the list.

The DGFT also said that these 14 ports will be further allowed to import un-shredded scrap till March 31, 2018.

By that time, they are required to install and operationalise radiation portal monitors and container scanner.

"Such sea ports which fail to meet the deadline will be derecognised for the purpose of import of un-shredded metallic scrap from April 1, 2018," it said public notice.