Top Maritime Achievers Win Accolade at India Maritime Awards

Posted by Daily Shipping Times on 27-06-2017        Tweet

Shri Deepak Shetty honoured with Business Reformer of the Year Award, Shri C S Manohar with Lifetime Achievement Award and Ms. Mrunal Tanna with Woman Professional in Shipping & Logistics Industry

MUMBAI: Top Industry Stalwarts from the Maritime Trade, Senior Bureaucrats from Ports, Customs & Maritime Board flocked in scores at a Glittering function of India Maritime Awards organised and managed by Daily Shipping Times in Mumbai at ST. Regis on 21st June 2017 to cheer and applaud the Winners and Top Achievers.

Taking a giant lead forward from the first edition, the stage was perfectly set for the second edition of India Maritime Awards on a much larger and grand scale only because of the phenomenal response received from the trade in filing the nominations.

Daily Shipping Times expresses its heartfelt gratitude to all its Event Partners especially Ameya Logistics for its continuous support as Event Partner for the 2nd Edition of India Maritime Awards.  

Dr. John Joseph, IRS, Chief Commissioner of Customs, Mumbai Customs Zone – II (Nhava Sheva) graced the function as the Chief Guest. Shri Ravi Parmar, IAS, Chairman – Kandla Port was the Guest of Honour while Shri Neeraj Bansal, IRS, Deputy Chairman - JN Port and Shri Amitabh Kumar, IRS, Additional Director General of Shipping were Special Guests at the event.

Industry Stalwart Shri Dinesh Lal, Director - AMI India Logistics was the Jury Chairman along with other eminent dignitaries from Maritime trade for selecting the winners of India Maritime Awards 2nd Edition.

The function began by felicitation of three Maritime Industry Associations. Capt Deepak Tewari, Chairman – CSLA, Shri Anil Devli, CEO – INSA and Shri M. P. Pradhan, President - CAI were presented with a memento from Shri Dinesh Lal.        

An Eminent panellist comprising industry stalwarts from the maritime industry had an intellectually insightful panel discussion on the role “Disruption in Logistics Sector” between the Awards function.

Shri Tushar Jani, Chairman – SCA Group moderated this panel discussion with other panellist Shri Neeraj Bansal, IRS, Deputy Chairman – JN Port, Shri Mukesh Oza, Group President and CEO – Samsara Group, Shri Anil Radhakrishnan, CEO – Adani Logistics, Shri Amar More, CEO – Kale Logistics. 

Most of the panellist felt that disruption is here to stay in order to bring in more efficiency and innovation in the way of doing businesses. They also laid emphasis of taking the Disruptions in a positive stride and to bring the changes keeping in line with the current changing times. The key Disruptions of current time like Artificial intelligence, Digitization, Big Data, IOT (Internet of Things) were deliberated during this informative panel discussion.

Dr. John Joseph in his Keynote address to the august gathering harped on the reforms processes undertaken by the JNCH during last few years that has changed the dynamic of doing business at JN Port. Dwelling upon the path breaking initiative of DPD, he said more and more people have started using this facility inorder to save time and cost which has now almost gone upto 30 % of the total imports. Similarly he also touched upon other initiatives for Ease of Doing Business undertaken during his tenure for making things easier for the Export-Import community. 

The key attraction during the event was Three Awards given to Three Special Individual from the Maritime Trade for invaluable contribution for the betterment of Shipping industry as a whole.

Business Reformer of the Year Award was given to Shri Deepak Shetty, IRS, Ex-DG Shipping for having played a key role in drafting the new Merchant Shipping Bill 2016 introduced in Parliament during last fiscal year apart from making the office of DG Shipping almost paperless. On a humble note, Shri Deepak Shetty dedicated this Award to his colleagues from the DG Shipping. Dr. John Joseph presented this Award to Shri Deepak Shetty in presence of his wife Mrs. Dr. Sujatha Shetty.  

On the other hand Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Shri C. S. Manohar who has played an indispensible role in various capacities for improving the dynamics of the Shipping Industry. Shri Manohar ventured into Shipping industry in the year 1976 and has worked in various capacity in companies like SCI, Patel Volkart, Hoegh Lines - Oslo, Sea Consortium – Singapore, NOL, APL, Samrat Shipping. He is currently associated with Seaworld Shipping apart from pursuing his personal interest. He was Member of MANSA Executive Committee and went on to become the President of MANSA from 2004 to 2006. He has also served as a Trustee on the Board of Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust.

Shri Deepak Shetty and Shri Laksha Tadadikar - Ameya Logistics presented Shri C. S. Manohar with “Lifetime Achievement Award” amidst a huge round of applause and a standing ovation from the August gathering.  

Mrs. Mrunal Tanna, Director - Ocean Links Shipping, won the “Woman Professional in Shipping and Logistics Industry” from Ms. Rukhsana Vohra, Director (Projects) – Sai Maritime and Mrs. Dr. Sujatha Shetty. Mrs. Mrunal Tanna is an accomplished qualified Logistics Industry veteran with over 3 decades of Expertise in the Freight Forwarding and Shipping Support Industry. She has also been actively involved in promoting the cause of the Freight Forwarding.

Leading light from the Maritime and Logistics Industry such as Capt Anil Singh, Capt Sunil Thapar, Shri Prakash Tulsiani, Shri Umesh Grover, Shri Samir Shah, Capt Swaminathan Rajagopalan, Shri Prithwjit Maitra, Shri Shantanu Bhadkamkar, Shri Kamal Jain, Capt Vivek Anand, Shri Vivek Kele besides other dignitaries from the trade were present in large number to cheer and applaud the Best Companies and Top Achievers from the Martitime trade.