Finance Minister constitute a Committee on Exports on GST related matters

Posted by Daily Shipping Times on 15-09-2017        Tweet

NEW DELHI: The Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has constituted a Group of Ministers and a Committee on Exports in pursuance of the decision taken at the 21st meeting of the GST Council on September 8 at Hyderabad.

Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi will head the Group of Ministers while Committee on Exports is to be headed by the Revenue Secretary, Dr. Hasmukh Adhia.

The Group of Ministers (GoM) has been constituted under the convenorship of the Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar, Sushil Kumar Modi,in order to monitor and resolve the IT challenges faced in the implementation of GST.

The Members of the GoM are Mr Amar Agarwal, Minister for Commercial Taxes, Government of Chhatisgarh, Mr Krishna Byregowda, Minister for Agriculture, Government of Karnataka; Dr. T.M. Thomas Isaac, Finance Minister, Government of Kerala and Mr Etela Rajendar, Finance Minister, Government of Telengana.

The GoM will be assisted in its work by the Chairman, Goods and Services Tax Network (GSTN) and the Chief Executive Officer, GSTN.

The Committee on Exports has been constituted under the convenorship of the Revenue Secretary to look at the issues of export sector and to recommend to the GST Council suitable strategy for helping the export sector in the post-GST scenario.

This Committee consists of the Chairperson, Central Board of Excise and Customs, Member (Customs), Central Board of Excise and Customs, Director General, Director General of Foreign Trade; Addional Secretary, GST Council; Director General, DG Export Promotion from the Central Government and Commissioners of Commercial Taxes from the States of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.