Mumbai Port wins 39th All India Major Ports Hockey Tournament 2017-18

Posted by Daily Shipping Times on 11-04-2018        Tweet

MUMBAI: Mumbai Port Trust Hockey Team played sizzling Hockey beating Visakhapatnam Port Trust 6-2 in the finals, to clinch the title in the 39th All India Major Ports Hockey Tournament, 2017-18 held at MHA Mahindra Hockey Stadium, Mumbai organized by Mumbai Port Sports Council on 5.4.2018.

Chennai Port Trust beat Paradip Port Trust to win the Bronze. Ravi Panche scored a brace, while Digvijay Naik, Riyaz Qureshi, Salauddin Siddique & Shreedhar Krishnamurthy scored a goal apiece for Mumbai Port Trust.

Ravi Panche, Mumbai Port, was adjudged the Player of the Tournament, while  Nelson Peter, Vizag Port was the highest goal scorer.  Akshay Singh & Ainul Haq, both Mumbai Port were adjudged as the Best Goal Keeper and Forward respectively.  Om Mangesh of Chennai Port was the Best Defender and Kamal Raj of Vizag Port was the Best Mid-Fielder.

Mr. Dhananjay Mahadik, Former India International, Chief Guest and  Mr. N.B. Mote, Dy. Director, Sports & Youth Affairs (Mumbai Division) and Mr.K.G. Nath, FA&CAO & Member, MPSCB, gave away the prizes at a gala Valedictory Function held at the venue.